Absentee Voting Begins for Clinton City Council

 The Laurens County Elections Commission has issued instructions on Absentee Balloting for the Special Election next month for Clinton City Council. Voters may vote in person or by mail.

  In Person Absentee Voting opens Monday, December 30th at the Laurens County Election Commission office on the ground floor of the Historic Courthouse on the Laurens Square. Eligible voters may vote absentee in person during regular officer hours up until 5 pm the day before the election. Photo ID is required.

  Absentee Voting is already underway for the upcoming Clinton City Council election. Photo ID is not required to vote by mail. Eligible voters may request an application from the Laurens County Registration and Elections Office by phone, mail, email or fax. You will then be mailed an application. You may also get an application on-line at SCVotes.org. You then sign the application and send it to the Laurens County Elections Office by mail, email, fax or personal delivery. You’ll then be mailed an absentee ballot.

After completing your absentee ballot, return it to the Laurens County Elections Office by mail or in person. It must arrive by 7pm on Election Day. If you have someone else deliver your ballot for you, you must first complete an authorization to return the absentee ballot form that was included in the ballot package.

   You must have a legitimately recognized reason for needing to vote absentee. Fourteen reasons are cited. Many deal with work requirements, including military assignments. Students attending school outside their community and their spouses are also eligible.

Poll workers, people with jury duty, even people who are incarcerated but not yet convicted are eligible for absentee voting. For more information, visit SCVotes.org.

     The special election for Clinton City Council Seat 5 is set for Tuesday, January 14th. Candidates on the ballot are Danny Fortney of 404 Caldwell Street, Josh Lindsey at 117 Baldwin Circle and Norman Scarborough of 100 Mr. Jim Lane.