November Candidates Now Set

The period for candidates to register as non-partisan candidates in this fall’s General Election ended Friday with just two contested races of six school board seats up for election in Districts 55 and 56. School District 56 seat 5 is being sought by Elizabeth Davis McKinney and Tammy Stewart, while Seat 7 is being sought by both Sharon Mack and Keith Richardson. Seat 6 on the District 56 School Board has just one candidate, Jan Bridges Simmons. All three of the seats up for election on the District 55 School Board have incumbents running unopposed. They are Mike Fortune for Seat 2, Jim Lollis for Seat 4 and Susan Calhoun Ware for Seat 6.

In other non-partisan elections this November, David R. Coggins and Sarah E. Daniels are registered for the seats on the Soil and Water conservation District. The Duncan Creek Water Conservation District has three candidates vying for two positions. They are James M. “Buddy” Copeland, Michelle L. Geter and Harold McClintock Jr. Running for the seats on the Beaverdam-Warrior creek Water Conservation District are William Lewis Croxton and P. Maxy Hunter. Bill Meder and Don Reynolds are to be on the ballot for the two seats on the Rabon Creek Water Conservation District.


Also on the ballot this November will be candidates selected during the Primary process back in June. County-wide positions have three incumbents unopposed for reelection. They are Probate Judge Kay W. Friday, Auditor Sally B. Lancaster and Treasurer Cynthia M Burke.

Two of the three incumbents running for re-election to County Council are unopposed. Ted Nash from District 1 and P. Keith Tollison from District 5 have no opposition, while County Council Chairman Jim Coleman is being challenged by Stewart Jones for the seat from District 4.

Only one of the three South Carolina House of Representatives districts that include Laurens County has opposition. Representative Mike Pitts is unopposed in Laurens and Greenwood Counties for re-election to Seat 14 while Mark Willis is unopposed in Greenville and Laurens Counties for another term representing Seat 16. Long-term Democrat Representative Mike Anthony of Union is being challenged by Republican David Tribble of Clinton for House Seat 42. That seat includes all of Union County as well as parts of eastern Laurens County that include parts of Clinton and Joanna.