Campaign 2018 Update

Midnight last night was the deadline for South Carolina residents to be properly registered, in order to vote in the upcoming June primaries. Meanwhile, candidates for contested races are campaigning.

Four people are seeking to replace retiring County Councilman Ted Nash represent County Council Seat 1. The Republican Primary ballot will list Adam Howell, Susan K. Thackston, Ryan D. Thorn and Kemp Younts.

While Stewart Jones is unopposed for re-election for Council District 4, three are three Republicans seeking to represent County Council District 5. These are Jeffery Carroll, Dale Mitchell and incumbent Keith Tollison.

The Laurens County Tea Party is hosting a Candidate Forum for County Council candidates this week. All 7 of the candidates for contested Districts 1 and 5 have been invited. This will be held at the Laurens YMCA this Thursday at 7:00. Diane Belsom of the Laurens County Tea Party said it will be streamed live.

In the state-house seats that include portions of Laurens County, Incumbent Mark N. Willis is challenged by Brooks Carwile for District 16 and Doug Gilliam and Phillip Russell face off to see who replaces retiring Representative Mike Anthony from District 42. House District 14 Representative Mike Pitts was not challenged for the Republican Party nomination.

Three people are seeking party nomination for House District 3 in the United States Congress. Incumbent Republican Jeff Duncan of Laurens County was not opposed for the Republican Party nomination. Dave Moore was unopposed for the American Party nomination. In the Democratic Party, Hosea Cleveland and Mary Geren will face off in June.

One of those candidates is to be present this evening for a meeting of the Laurens County Democratic Party. The party meets at 6:00 this evening in the House of Pizza in Clinton.  3rd District Congressional Candidate Mary Geren will be the speaker at this evening’s meeting of Laurens County Democrats.

Again – that’s at 6:00 in Clinton at the House of Pizza.