Primary Voting Underway

Polls are now open across Laurens County and throughout South Carolina for the 2018 Primaries. While both Democratic and Republican Parties have multiple options for the Governor’s Office, the options are more limited here on local ballots.

3rd District Congressman Jeff Duncan is unopposed for the Republican nomination for another term. In the General Election this fall, he’ll be facing Dave Moore, the only candidate who filed in the American Party, along with the winner of a two-person contest in the Democratic Primary. Local voters today can select between Hosea Cleveland and Mary Geren for the Democratic Party nomination for that congressional seat.

The county-wide offices up for the voters this year only had incumbents file for the Republican Primary. Sailing through the primary process today are Probate Judge Kay W. Fridy, Auditor Jim Coleman and Treasurer Cynthia M. Burke.

In State House contests, Mike Pitts is unopposed for House Seat 14 while Mark Willis faces Brooks Carwile for the Republican nomination for House Seat 16 today. Doug Gilliam and Phillip Russell are seeking the Republican Party nomination for House Seat 42 to replace the retiring long-time Democrat Representative Mike Anthony. Seat 42 includes all Union County and parts of Eastern Laurens County, including major areas in Clinton and Joanna.

While County Council incumbent Stewart Jones is unopposed for another term today for Seat 4, there are contests in the Republican Primary in two other county council seats. Seeking to replace retiring County Council member Ted Nash from District 1 are Adam Howell, Susan K. Thackston, Ryan D. Thorne and Kemp Younts. In County Council District 5, incumbent Keith Tollision is being challenged by Jeffery Carroll and Dale Mitchell.