Candidate Sign-Up Ends Wednesday at Noon

There is now at least one candidate who has filed for each of the District 55 and District 56 school board positions in the General Elections this November. As of the close of business of the Laurens County Elections Office Friday, all but one of the watershed district commission positions had a candidate who had filed.

For School District 55, there are three candidates for seat 2. They are Bessie Eaddy Williams, Jim Moore and Cathy Little. For seat 4, Mark Earle is the only candidate registered as of Friday. There is a two-candidate contest for seat 6 on the District 55 School Board, Susan Calhoun-Ware and David Underwood.

As of Friday, one candidate had filed for each of the three school board positions open in this election cycle for the District 56 School Board. They are Tammy Stewart for seat 5, David Underwood for seat 6 and Keith Richardson for seat 7.

For the Watershed Commission positions up for election this November, only one position lacked a candidate as of Friday.

For the Rabon Creek Watershed District, which is in Laurens and Greenville counites, there are three candidates who filed for the two positions. They are Bill Meder, Casey Robinson and David Tillman.

In the Beaverdam – Warrior Creek Watershed District, which is in Laurens County, William Lewis Croxton and Maxcy Hunter Sr. have filed for the two positions open this year.

As of Friday afternoon, there was only one candidate for the two positions on the ballot this November for the Duncan Creek Watershed District in Laurens County. Incumbent Harold W. McClinton Jr. will be on the ballot.

All these positions are non-partisan, so did not have candidates in the June primaries. The filing period continues this week, with candidates filing in the officers of the Laurens County Board of Voter Registration and Elections, on the ground floor of the Historic Courthouse, on the Laurens Square. They’re open 9 to 5 for filing Monday and Tuesday. The filing period closes at Noon Wednesday, August 15th.