Many Uncontested Races Yesterday

Unopposed Laurens County-wide officers re-elected with over 98% of yesterday’s unofficial vote tally include Probate Judge Kaye W. Friday, Auditor Jim Coleman and Treasurer Cynthia M. Burke.

Republican candidates winning election to Laurens County Council without opposition in the General Election were Kemp Younts for District 1, Stewart Jones for District 4 and Jeffrey Carroll for County Council District 5.

Laurens County voters joined with the statewide sentiment for reelecting other Republicans, including Governor Henry McMaster, Secretary of State Mark Hammond, Treasurer Curtis Loftis and Attorney General Alan Wilson.

We supported re-election of Commissioner of Agriculture Hugh Weathers with just short of 83% of the local vote.