Polls Open at 7:00 Tuesday Morning

Sixteen Laurens County voting precincts will be open tomorrow for a General Election. This election was required when, earlier this year, County Council member Stuart Jones won election to South Carolina House Seat 14, following the resignation of Representative Mike Pitts.

During a Republican Primary, W. Brown Patterson won the party’s nomination to fill the open county council seat. Since there was no candidate put forward by the Democratic Party or any others, Brown Patterson’s name is the only one to be on the ballot tomorrow.

Barring any unforeseen challenge, Brown Patterson is expected to win tomorrow’s general election and serve Laurens County on County Council District Four.

Precincts that have some registered voters in Council District 4 include Laurens City Precincts 1, 3, 4 and 5 along with Bailey, Trinity Ridge and Wattsville. Clinton area precincts are Lydia Mill and Long Branch.

Mountville-area precincts include Mountville and Maddens. Other precincts with some voters in Council District 4 include Hickory Tavern, Ekom, Mount Olive and Waterloo.

Polls will be open from 7:00 in the morning until 7:00 tomorrow evening.