Good Day for Incumbents

It was a good day for incumbents in General Elections across five Laurens County municipalities yesterday.

Longtime Laurens City Council Member Marion “Blonde” Miller won re-election to City Council Seat 01 in a three-way race with an unofficial total of 60 votes, eliminating need for a runoff.  Joe Lovin came in second with 31 votes and Phillip McClintock received 3. City Council Member Alicia Latrina Sullivan also won re-election in a three-way race with 79 votes, while challenger Wayne Neal received 25 and Faith Woodruff had one vote. Sara Latimore was unopposed for re-election to Laurens City Council seat 04, receiving 41 votes to one write-in.

Longtime Clinton City Council Seat 01 Representative Danny Cook handily withstood two challengers yesterday, receiving an unofficial total of 114 votes. Ricky D. Martin Jr. polled 14 votes and Henry Anderson received 3. Clinton City Council Seat 05 Member Ronnie Roth held off a close race in last night’s unofficial vote tally, receiving 34 votes to 31 for challenger Mitch Meadors. Robbie Neal was re-elected without opposition for Clinton City Council Seat 03.

Two members of the Laurens Commission of Public Works were re-elected yesterday without opposition. Ulysses Cunningham received 172 votes vs 4 write-ins for District 01 while Gerald Abercrombie received 85 votes to 6 write-ins for CPW District 02.

Cross Hill Mayor Randy Bishop was re-elected yesterday with an unofficial vote count of 57. While there were only four candidates for the four at-large positions on Cross Hill Town Council yesterday, there was some indication of a possible run-off for one of the Town Council seats from a write-in candidate. Stephanie Banks received 16 write-in votes. However, all four candidates on the ballot received sufficiently more votes to rule out a runoff. Elected to Cross Hill Town Council were Beverly L. Jones with 59 votes, Charles Bartee with 57, David Coleman with 56 and Connie Jester with 46.

Waterloo Mayor Barbara A. Smith along with Town Council Members Murry Jones and Curtis J. Todd were each re-elected without opposition, receiving 16 votes each, with no write-ins.

Gray Court elected two members of Town Council. Last night’s unofficial vote count showed 10 votes for both Joy Neal Craine and for Millie Dawkins.

All results are unofficial until this Laurens County Election Commission meets for a Canvass of the votes this week.